Wilderness

I’m thrilled with living in a vibrant, thriving city. But sometimes I need to see something wild.

Just part of the drive. NBD.

Just part of the drive. NBD.

A week spent in Rocky Mountain National Park cleared my head and provided endless moments of inspiration.

Aptly named, the Big Meadow is... big. Also, gorgeous

Aptly named, the Big Meadow is… big. Also, gorgeous

Historically, I’m not a camping kind of woman. But my husband really wanted to. And it seemed wrong not to camp a few days while in Colorado. So we did.

A hammock is required for all camping trips. Really- its in the rulebook.

A hammock is required for all camping trips. Really- its in the rulebook.

And it was fun! Except for the unexpected cold snap. We were prepared for temps in the low 50s, but it was close to 40 several nights. Since I regularly get shivers at any temp below 80, this made for a unique experience. And by unique, I mean frigid.

Moose calf on the bank of the Colorado River.

Moose calf on the bank of the Colorado River.

Despite my husband’s obvious attempt to freeze me to death, it was still awesome to experience the wilds of RMNP. We saw moose! Elk! Pika! Marmot! Even a Pine Marten (though he posed in the *perfect* spot to avoid a quality photo. Thanks Marty). While we didn’t feed any of the creatures, it was obvious that some of the ground squirrels expected it. I was sad to disappoint, but happy to exploit their adorable antics.

Feed me, oh large human of dumb!

Feed me, oh large human of dumb!

I took a couple thousand pictures, and look forward to posting EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. for you to enjoy. Or not… How dull. However, I’m still editing them and will most definitely continue sharing them as I find new photos to adore.

Just being an elk. By the road. Posing nobly.

Just being an elk. By the road. Posing nobly.

I may even post travel notes about where we stayed,etc. Or I can just post pictures. It doesn’t really matter where you stay, as long as you go to Rocky Mountain NP, be a responsible nature appreciator and stand in appropriate and total awe at the beauty of our world.

Clouds rolling across the Rockies.

Clouds rolling across the Rockies.

3 responses to “Wilderness

  1. Pingback: Wilderness | Gaia Gazette·

Leave a Reply

