Day at the Races

Ok, that was misleading- my horses don’t race. Even when they were young’uns they didn’t race. Now that both are in the over 20 ‘equine senior’ crowd? A gentle amble is all we ask :). This was just a regular morning at the barn as I visited to apply cuddles (externally) and cookies (internally) to my beasties. There were still ample opportunities to view some of the more… interesting… members of the equine community. Observe.
The one with odd hair.

Note- this is not my beastie. He does live out in the pasture with Lyric and, clearly, just doesn't care about his hair.

Note- this is not my beastie. He does live out in the pasture with Lyric and, clearly, just doesn’t care about his hair.

Horses are not vain, no matter how people may perceive them.

The one that looks pregnant.

All of them. All the time. What do you expect- a mini donkey with a yen for fitness??

He likes his treats. All of them. All the time. What do you expect- a mini donkey with a yen for fitness??

But yeah… that’s a gelding (boy without man-globes attached).

The paparazzi.

I honestly don't even know the names of all these beasts- Copper just lives out there with them and they know I carry treats so... attack!

I honestly don’t even know the names of all these beasts- Copper just lives out there with them and they know I carry treats so… attack!

They may be short, but they are also insistent.

They may be short, but they are also insistent.

I gave up on getting closer to Copper (the little reddish one back there) with a camera because this all I ended up getting. We’ll try again some other time.

I was able to get a nice moment of reflection from Lyric though- he’s always ready to pose for… well, pretty much anything. He loves looking pretty!

Lyric paused just long enough for me to get a nice reflection in his eye. Lovely beast!

Lyric paused just long enough for me to get a nice reflection in his eye. Lovely beast!

Who needs races- I’ll take the donkeys!

Leave a Reply

