Everyday Objects

I work a normal day job- huzzah for jobs that pay the bills! However, during the winter that can make it difficult to get good shots anytime other than the weekend. I’m currently working on making better use of available light (i.e. crappy artificial light, etc), but sometimes my skill level is not equal to the task. Bah.

One benefit of limited outdoors light is that I have to look around the apartment for photo ideas. And no, I don’t just always photograph the dogs. Photographing moving creatures who are purposefully avoiding you, in low light conditions no less, is a bit difficult. {Digression: when I DON’T have my camera out, both dogs and the cat pile onto the same 5′ sq. area I’m trying to inhabit, so I end up pretzeled while holding a book, tea and avoiding 15 feet aimed at my face. Pull out the camera and our apartment becomes desolate. Grr.}

So anyway, in pursuit of photographic glory, I had my camera out for some of this week’s regular events. Like tea.

I present to you- tea.

I present to you- tea.

Its been chilly (for Houston) and rainy (as in wet) for the last week, so we’ve had tea daily. I like tea. Plus, this time I got a nice bit of steam in the shot.

And here is some farting… er.. fermenting hot sauce that my husband is experimenting with. This container sits in our cabinet and bubbles. Fortunately it smells better than that sounds.

My husband stores random bubbling foods in our cabinets. I try not to ask questions.

My husband stores random bubbling foods in our cabinets. I try not to ask questions.

Oh, and you know how I mentioned the animals running from my camera? If I stealthily pull out my phone, sometimes I can get works of adorable on the sly.

Stealth shot. Must. Not. Move.

Stealth shot. Must. Not. Move.

Since I happened to be under a pile of animals at the time (the blanket lump on the right is my leg), I used this photo as my 52 Week Project photo. Last week was ‘Interpret a Song’. This photo went for “Lazy Days” by Enya. And yes, I just googled ‘songs about lazy days’, then picked one I liked. I had an Enya phase from ages 5-30. Deal with it.

Leave a Reply

