Desert air

Last month my husband and I and two friends completed a cross-country -state trek to Hueco Tanks State Park, just outside of El Paso. The two guys were there to indulge their mutual rock climbing insanity by completing the Hueco Tanks Wanker 101. Yup, an odd name for an odd venture. Basically, the guys joined forces with a random fellow and took off on their Wanker 101. 101 routes totaling 1500 feet of V0-V2 bouldering (if that means anything to you), some on sketchy routes, in the space of a day. Myself and the other dude’s girlfriend (i.e. the sane people) went mostly to enjoy the desert air, look at the natural beauty, and maybe climb a few routes.

Wonderful way to wake up!

Wonderful way to wake up!

Several mornings I woke up early and explored around the Hueco Rock Ranch (our accommodation, which is a place for climbers). The park didn’t open til 8am, so I had the area to myself in the wee morning hours. It was very quiet, very chilly (for Texas), and the sky had amazing color.

The first day of the trip, the light was just perfect. It was so bright, but the cloud cover made for great color and a gorgeous sky.

The first day of the trip, the light was just perfect. It was so bright, but the cloud cover made for great color and a gorgeous sky.

On our last day, the dudes completed their boulder-ganza, but us saner halves elected NOT to participate in any event referred to as ‘the Wanker’. Instead, we hiked. Took {more} pictures. Appreciated the historical pictographs in the area. Ate some Kind bars.

Its winter, so there was little greenery, but this tree in particular looked stark in the surroundings.

Its winter, so there was little greenery, but this tree in particular looked stark in the surroundings.

Following the Wanker, we went to a hole-in-the-wall burrito place that didn’t look like a restaurant. A local climber guy told us where it was, and it was amazing. But do I know the name? No. Its in a meat market behind the Vista grocery store closest to Hueco Tanks SP- that is the best I can do. I live to be vague, apparently.

Obviously this is not a picture of the mentioned burritos. I apologize- I was too hungry for photography.

Obviously this is not a picture of the mentioned burritos. I apologize- I was too hungry for photography.

I insist that I’m the sane one, though I a) rented a lens for the event (Canon 16-35L Wide Angle- it was amaze-balls) b)ended up carrying an extra 10lb of photo gear on my back c)scrambled over uneven terrain with said gear on my back. I still vote for the guys being strangest. Definitely.

One of the giant dried out huecos in the park. So cool, but I'd love to see them full of water after a rain!

One of the giant dried out huecos in the park. So cool, but I’d love to see them full of water after a rain!

Trip summary:

Hueco Tanks SP is cool, but really far away from Houston. SAME STATE DIFFERENT TIME ZONE.

It is dry in the desert. Take all the chapstick.

Desert sunrise/sunset is beautiful, but chilly.

Climbing things is fun, but so is staying at ground level and enjoying the view.

Magnolia House (San Antonio) has amazing pancakes/waffles/breakfast yums.

Texas is too big. I repeat, 10 hours driving, went into a different time zone. Not. Right.

Leave a Reply

