To live is to learn

So this is an odd realization for me:

I have been out of college for nearly SEVEN YEARS. I regularly consider myself ‘college-aged’, but… nopenopenope. Those freshmen were born in the late 90s. EEK! Not only am I NOT in that age group, but I don’t even wish I were that young now!

Yet oddly, I am rejoining the college-going masses (though not as a freshmen). General dismay at my current career trajectory led me to consider other options which unfortunately means aquiring ANOTHER bachelors degree. The program I’m interested in won’t accept students til the summer of 2016, so I have time to procrastinate myself into oblivion decide if I can handle more book learnin’. Yay community college! I’m currently in the first of 2 classes this semester (they had 1,384 start dates available, so one class won’t start for another 2 weeks), and going from being a lazy lump while at home to studenting has been… different.

Despite the oddities of going back to school (even if just for 2 online courses), I think this will be good for me. If you aren’t learning, you aren’t living. So now I’m living life a little more fully, and that is always a good thing.

"In wine there is wisdom..." Part of a quote normally attributed to Benjamin Franklin. Not sure if its really his, but I agree about the wine=wisdom part!

“In wine there is wisdom…”
Part of a quote normally attributed to Benjamin Franklin. Not sure if its really his, but I agree about the wine=wisdom part!

Leave a Reply

